The REALTOR® of the Year Award is conferred annually to a member that, over the past ten years, has made outstanding contributions to the industry through involvement in their national, state, and local associations.

The nomination deadline is December 4, 2019.

Contact Ruth Lyons for more information.

Nomination Guidelines and Qualifications

  1. No more than one REALTOR® may be honored each year. The recipient is selected by the DSA/REALTOR® of the Year committee. The committee will name one (or no) recipient based on nominations submitted by local associations.
  2. The current Texas REALTORS® Chairman of the Board, Immediate Past Chairman, and Texas REALTORS® and local association staff are not eligible for the award.
  3. The REALTOR® of the Year award shall be presented by the Immediate Past Chairman of Texas REALTORS® and the Committee Chairman February Winter Meeting, in Austin, TX.
  4. Only one nominee from each local association will be considered, but an association other than his or her own may nominate the candidate. There shall be no campaigning for this award.
  5. Any Texas REALTOR® who has been a member of his or her local association for two or more years is eligible, with the few exceptions listed in item #2 above.
  6. Letters of endorsement and/or recommendation in support of this candidate will be accepted from the president and/or association executive of the nominating and/or primary association ONLY. Letters can be mailed to Texas REALTORS® by the nomination deadline. Additional recommendations should not be solicited or submitted.
  7. A recent photograph is required in a digital format or, if none is available, a photograph can be mailed to the association by the nomination deadline.
  8. Candidate notification of the nomination is at the discretion of the association submitting the nomination. Confidentiality is not a requirement.
  9. Following the nomination process each year, all nominations, other than the one selected, will be discarded and will not be automatically considered the following year. Candidates will only be considered if a new nomination is submitted.


The following criteria are considered in determining the recipient of the award. Evaluation is based on the individual’s ranking in each category. The selection committee will apply the indicated percentage figures below and award the individual who has the highest “weighted” score.

National Service (10%)

Include all NAR contributions, i.e., offices held, committee assignments, participation in work group and/or task force meetings, service as a legislative liaison, participation in calls-to-action, consistent attendance at NAR meetings such as conventions, Hill Visits, or other national meetings, membership held in any of the institutes, societies or councils, visits made to out-of-Texas associations as speaker or guest, and any other national-level activity.

State Service (35%)

Include all Texas REALTORS® contributions and service, i.e., offices held, committee assignments, attendance at association meetings such as Conference, Winter Meeting, and REALTOR® Day at the Texas Capitol (Hill Visits). Participation in legislative assemblies, calls-to-action, PAC events, seminars, educational programs as an instructor or monitor, in-town and out-of-town visits to other associations, membership in affiliated organizations, and other state-sponsored activities.

Local Service (30%)

Include contributions and service, i.e., all offices held, committee service, special assignments, participation in PAC activities, meeting attendance, seminar activity, education work, membership and offices held in local chapter of the institutes or other related organizations.

Civic and Community Service (10%)

List activities or involvement with Chamber of Commerce work, religious and cultural contributions to the community, public welfare, campaigns, and political offices held (with or without pay). Examples include city council, commissioner’s court, school boards, planning commission, etc.

Individual Accomplishments (15%)

List contributions that have enhanced the image of the real estate professional, the industry and/or include examples of the nominee’s participation as a mentor or role model to new members at the local, state, or national level.

Applications will be reviewed by the selection committee and, upon selection, Texas REALTORS® will immediately contact the nominating association to begin gathering information for special video preparation. Local assistance in coordinating participation by the recipient’s family and friends will be necessary.

List of Past Winners

Year Recipient Area
2018 Leslie Rouda Smith Plano
2017 Dan Hatfield Bandera
2016 Dave Dalzell Abilene
2015 Brooke Hunt Flower Mound
2014 Bill Jones Temple
2013 Randy Jeffers Amarillo
2012 Lance Lacy San Angelo
2011 Avis Wukasch Georgetown
2010 John Eckstrum Conroe
2009 Jane Caskey San Antonio
2008 George Stephens Houston
2007 Dwight Hale San Antonio
2006 John Walton Lubbock
2005 Bill Watts Denton
2004 Louise Hull Victoria
2003 Ann Houston Denton
2002 Ron Wakefield San Antonio
2001 John Nichols Houston
2000 Charles McMillan Fort Worth
1999 Mary Frances Burleson Dallas
1998 Barbara Russell Denton
1997 Mike Brodie Collin County
1996 Bob Garrett Amarillo
1995 Gooley Orr Kerens
1994 Doyle Krueger New Braunfels
1993 Franklin Jeffers Amarillo
1992 Bill Jennings Fort Worth
1991 Virginia Cook Dallas
1990 Posie Willess Dallas
1989 Conrad Bering Jr. Houston
1988 Bob Wertheimer Dallas
1987 Judge Fite Dallas
1986 Lawrence Young Corpus Christi
1985 Patsy Bohannan The Woodlands
1984 Benny McMahan Dallas
1983 Jack Cawood McAllen
1982 George Sandin Austin
1981 George Shafer Dallas
1980 Wallace Moritz San Angelo
1979 Guy Chipman Jr. San Antonio
1978 Beth Carter Fort Worth
1977 Julio Laguarta Houston
1976 Hub Bechtol Austin
1975 Joe Perrone Austin
1974 Lester Weatherby Fort Worth
1973 Lawrence Miller Jr. Dallas
1972 Don Mason Amarillo
1971 A.L. Purvis Fort Worth
1970 H.W. Bahmnman Harlingen
1969 P.C. Naylor Jr. San Antonio
1968 Dennis Wagner El Paso
1967 Alton Miller Dallas
1966 John Wolf Houston
1965 Arthur Baird San Antonio
1964 Owen Sherrill Georgetown
1963 Ebby Halliday Dallas
1962 Hugo Loewenstern Austin
1961 Vincent Schmitt Texas City
1960 Lyn Davis Dallas
1959 Lacy Goostree Fort Worth
1958 George McCanse Houston
1957 John Stemmons Dallas