February 11, 2014 — Austin

Celebrating a year of accomplishments, the Texas REALTORS® recognized outstanding members and local associations February 10 during its annual Winter Meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Austin.

“This event commemorates two years of record growth for the Texas housing market and honors the Texas REALTORS® and local REALTOR® organizations that have been true trailblazers for our association and our industry,” said Dan Hatfield, chairman of the Texas REALTORS®.

The award for 2013 Texas REALTOR® of the Year, the Texas REALTORS®’ most prestigious award, was presented to Randy Jeffers of Coldwell Banker First Equity, REALTORS® in Amarillo. This title is bestowed annually to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the industry through involvement in their national, state, and local REALTOR® organizations during their career.

Shelia Hargraves-Torres of the Lufkin Association of REALTORS® received one of the most esteemed leadership recognitions: the Tom D. Morton Award, for top association executive in Texas. During her 11-year career, Hargraves-Torres has demonstrated a track record of leadership within the association and served as a mentor for many REALTORS® seeking to obtain the REALTOR® association Certified Executive (RCE) designation.

In addition, Texas REALTORS® gave special recognition to continuing education instructors and programs. Chad Cardani-Trollinger of Austin was named Educator of the Year. Cardani-Trollinger is a GRI (Graduate REALTOR® Institute) instructor who teaches technology, marketing, and pre-licensing classes for Texas REALTORS®.

The San Antonio Board of REALTORS®, Houston Association of REALTORS®, and MetroTex Association of REALTORS® were also honored with Education Program of the Year awards. These awards recognize outstanding local-association education programs that meet member needs and increase professionalism in the real estate industry.

The Texas REALTORS® also inducted 12 members into the National Association of REALTORS® Omega Tau Rho fraternity, which recognizes REALTORS® who have made outstanding contributions to the U.S. real estate industry: Cindi Bulla of Amarillo; Amy Smythe Harris of Houston; Cindy Hamann of Houston; Courtney Johnson Rose of Houston; Judy M. Jones of Dallas; Paul Kautz of Arlington; Roy Hogan of Arlington; Norman Dierschke of San Angelo; Linda Sheinall of Houston; David Burton of Austin; Don Roberts of Lufkin; and Linda Martin of Lufkin.

Finally, the Texas REALTOR® Hero Award, which recognizes a Texas REALTOR® who has done exemplary work in a housing-related charity or endeavor, was given to Jason Crouch of Austin Texas Homes, LLC. Crouch operates Luke 6 Ministries, a Christian ministry that provides shelter and aid for the homeless and needy in Austin.