February 28, 2012 — Austin

Celebrating a year of accomplishments, the Texas REALTORS® recognized outstanding members and local associations February 27 during its annual Winter Meeting at the Hyatt Regency.

“This event is a celebration of the past year’s achievements and a chance to honor all those who have devoted their time, energy and efforts to enhancing our industry,” said Joe Stewart, chairman of the Texas REALTORS®.

Receiving one of the most anticipated awards of the day, Avis Wukasch of Keller Williams Realty in Williamson County was named Texas REALTOR® of the Year. This title is bestowed annually to a member who, over the past 10 years, has made outstanding contributions to the industry through involvement in their national, state and local REALTOR® organizations.

Amy DuBose of the San Marcos Area Board or REALTORS® received one of the most esteemed leadership recognitions, the Tom D. Morton Award for top association executive in Texas. Her work growing membership, increasing TREPAC participation and reviving the education program has contributed greatly to the success of her local association.

The William C. Jennings Award for best commercial real estate transaction was awarded to David Glasscock of Colliers International for his strategic guidance in the sale of a 1.3 million square foot downtown Dallas office building.

In addition, Texas REALTORS® gave special recognition to continuing-education instructors and programs. Candace Cooke of Real Property Counselors Inc. in Buchanan Dam was named the Educator of the Year. After working in real estate for many years, Cooke has dedicated herself to providing courses, seminars and sessions that focus on practical information real estate professionals can use every day in their businesses.

Several local REALTOR® organizations have also taken substantial steps to further real estate education in Texas and were honored with Education Program of the Year awards. These awards are given in recognition of outstanding local-association education programs that meet member needs and increase the quality of professionalism in the real estate industry.

In the legal category, the Houston Association of REALTORS® was recognized for “Legally Speaking.” The award for most innovative program went to the San Antonio Board of REALTORS® for “REALTOR® Safety” and the best series or short program award was given to the Austin Board of REALTORS® for “Technology 101, 102 & 103.” The MetroTex Association won the marketing category for “Technology: Analysis or Paralysis.”

The Texas REALTORS® also inducted six members into the National Association of REALTORS® Omega Tau Rho fraternity, which recognizes REALTORS® who have made outstanding contributions to the real estate industry. Inductees included: Nancy Furst of Houston; Becky Hill of Houston; John Horton of Austin; Scott Caballero of San Antonio; Esther Lemieux of San Antonio; and Pat Szot of MetroTex.

Finally, the Texas REALTOR® Hero Award, which recognizes a Texas REALTOR® who has done exemplary work in promoting and advancing homeownership in Texas, was given to Andrea Cooksey. She was recognized for her coordination for the Time is Now- Housing Fair, hosted by the Houston Association of REALTORS®, which provided the more than 1,500 attendees with free credit counseling.