March 03, 2010 — Austin

The Texas REALTORS® recognized several outstanding members and local associations on Feb. 22 during its Winter Meeting at the Hyatt Regency, which broke records with more than 1,100 Texas Realtors attending.

“This event is a celebration of successes and a chance to honor all those who have devoted their time, energy and efforts to making our industry better,” said Bill Jones, Chairman of the Texas REALTORS®.

Receiving one of the most anticipated awards of the day, Jane Caskey of Coldwell Banker D’Ann Harper, Realtors in San Antonio was named Realtor of the Year. This title is bestowed annually to a member who, over the past 10 years, has made outstanding contributions to the industry through involvement in their national, state and local Realtor organizations.

Patricia Webb, director of board services for the Texas REALTORS®, received the Tom D. Morton Award, which is one of the most esteemed recognitions for association executives. Her work improving membership programs and professional development for many local associations has contributed greatly to organizations within the Texas Realtor family, including an unprecedented 237 percent increase in membership at the Greater Metro West Association of Realtors.

In addition, Texas Realtors gave special recognition to continuing-education instructors and programs. Peggy Santmyer of the Santmyer Team in Dallas was named Educator of the Year. After being active in the field for many years, Santmyer has dedicated herself to providing courses and seminars that focus on practical information for real estate professionals.

Several local Realtor organizations have also taken substantial steps to further real estate education in Texas and were honored with Education Program of the Year awards. These awards are given in recognition of outstanding local-association education programs that meet member needs and increase the quality of professionalism in the real estate industry.

In the legal category, the MetroTex Association of Realtors was recognized for “Back-up, Contingent & Multiple Offers.” The award for most innovative program went to the Austin Board of Realtors for “Online Learning Communities” and the best series or short program award was given to the Houston Association of Realtors for “Social Media Pro Series.” The San Antonio Board of Realtors was also recognized for best marketing practices for “Embracing Online Networking: Learn how Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn are impacting your business.”

The New Braunfels/Canyon Lake Association of Realtors received the 2009 Government Affairs Outstanding Achievement Award. The local association substantially increased participation in the Texas Real Estate Political Action Committee and increased grassroots involvement, including hosting government affairs training sessions and interviewing candidates for local and statewide political office.

The Texas REALTORS® also inducted six members into the National Association of Realtors Omega Tau Rho fraternity, which recognizes Realtors who have made outstanding contributions to the real estate industry. Inductees included: Socar Chatmon-Thomas of Austin; Jay Gohil of Austin; Bob Leonard of San Antonio; Eloise Eriksson Martin of Dallas; Robert Wright of Austin; and Howard Zielke of Rockwell.

Finally, an honor was bestowed for the first time at the event: the Texas Realtor Hero Award. This award recognizes a Texas Realtor for outstanding volunteer work in promoting homeownership in conjunction with a housing-related charity. The inaugural recipient was Dave Dalzell of Abilene. He was recognized for volunteer service to the Workforce Solutions Board of West Central Texas, contributions of reduced-rent housing and internships to those in need and for his work running a program that provides free furniture to formerly homeless families.