Hunter Dodson, Pierpont Communications, 512-448-4950

Texas REALTORS® announces 2018 Texas real estate award winners

REALTORS® and local associations honored at 2019 Winter Meeting

February 12, 2019 — Austin

Texas REALTORS® recognized its top members and local associations on Feb. 11 during its annual Texas REALTORS® Winter Meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Austin.

“REALTORS® work day in and day out to ensure that the Lone Star State continues to be a top place to live, work, and do business, and these awards exemplified those who went above and beyond last year,” said Tray Bates, chairman of Texas REALTORS®.

The award for 2018 Texas REALTORS® of the Year was presented to Leslie Rouda Smith of Plano. This title is bestowed annually to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the industry through involvement in her national, state and, local REALTORS® organizations during her career. Smith was recognized for her kind, approachable leadership style and for encouraging future generations of leaders in the REALTOR® organization.

The Tom D. Morton Association Executive of the Year award was presented to Kim Lambert, association executive of the Greater Lewisville Association of REALTORS®. Awarded only to REALTOR® association leaders with a long track record of service to their local association and a high level of respect among industry peers, the Tom D. Morton award was bestowed to Lambert for her extensive REALTOR® association leadership, her professionalism and dedication, and her involvement in her community.

The Texas REALTOR® Good Neighbor Award recognizes a REALTOR® who has demonstrated outstanding community involvement and volunteerism. In 2018, the award transitioned from the Texas REALTOR® Hero Award to the Texas REALTOR® Good Neighbor Award. The first recipient recognized under the award’s new name is Nelvin Adriatico of CORE Realty in Sugar Land. Adriatico is a longtime community advocate and volunteer. As a strong proponent of education, Adriatico is recognized for his outstanding involvement with the Alliance Multicultural Community Services Back to School Drive, a community-led event in the Houston area to gather school supplies, uniforms, and other items for over 4,000 students and their families.

Lori Solecki of Solecki Realty in Colleyville was named the 2018 Educator of the Year. Solecki is an instructor for the Graduate, Realtor Institute and has authored several real estate courses. She is known for a willingness to learn new things and for ensuring that students receive the high-quality education they deserve.

Wheeler Commercial of Beaumont Texas received the 2018 William C. Jennings Award for the outstanding commercial real estate transaction of the year. The William C. Jennings award is based on the transaction’s contribution to the community, merit and creativity, and application of commercial principles. The winning transaction involved a run-down apartment complex in Beaumont that was transformed into a safe, updated property.

Finally, Bill Evans of Austin REAL Pros was awarded Education Program of the Year in the legal category for his “Service, Therapy, or Emotional Support” course. The San Antonio Board of REALTORS® and Houston Association of REALTORS® were both recognized in the 2018 Education Awards category as well.

About Texas REALTORS®

With more than 150,000 members, Texas REALTORS® is a professional membership organization that represents all aspects of real estate in Texas. We are the advocate for REALTORS® and private property rights in Texas.