It's not too late to influence Congress — Act now!

Texas Association of REALTORS® announces candidate endorsements

Translate this page

Texas’ largest association pledges its support to Texas lawmakers

CONTACT: Stacy Armijo - Pierpont Communications, 512-448-4950

Jan 27 2010 — AUSTIN

The Texas Association of Realtors today announced its decision to endorse 33 candidates for Texas office in their contested primary races this March. In making the announcement, Texas Association of Realtors Chairman Bill Jones applauded all the candidates for their commitment to the interests of Texas homeowners.

“Texas has been fortunate to weather the recent economic storm better than other parts of the country, thanks in large part to our healthy real estate market,” said Jones. “If we hope to continue, however, it’s critical that Texas lawmakers keep the interests of homeowners foremost. When they return to work in 2011, they’ll face tough budget decisions, but we cannot further increase the financial burden of property owners in Texas. The candidates Texas Realtors endorse today understand that, which is why we’ve pledged our full support.”

Currently, Texas ranks 45th out of 50 states in homeownership. Electing lawmakers who understand Texas homeowners’ concerns and who will work to lower the barriers to homeownership in Texas is the association’s top priority this election season. As the largest professional membership association in the state, the Texas Association of Realtors expects to be a considerable grassroots force for all the candidates it has endorsed.

Texas Realtors have championed a number of legislative issues enhancing the lives of Texans, such as pursuing reforms to the property appraisal system in 2009, preventing a tax of $600 or more on the personal vehicles of independent businesspeople in 2007 and advocating for billions in property tax reductions in 2005. To learn more about Texas Realtors’ legislative advocacy on behalf of its members and homeowners, visit

Candidate Endorsements


Rick Perry

Texas Senate

Bob Deuell (SD 2 - Greenville)
Steve Ogden (SD 5 - Bryan)
Florence Shapiro (SD 8 - Plano)
Carlos Uresti (SD 19 - San Antonio)
Jose Rodriguez (SD 29 - El Paso)

Texas House

Dan Flynn (HD 2 - Van)
Betty Brown (HD 4 - Terrell)
Tommy Merritt (HD 7 - Longview)
Charles "Chuck" Hopson (HD 11 - Jacksonville)
Fred Brown (HD 14 - College Station)
Rob Eissler (HD 15 - The Woodlands)
Dora Olivo (HD 27 - Missouri City)
Armando Martinez (HD 39 - Weslaco)
Tara Rios Ybarra (HD 43 - South Padre Island)
Edmund Kuempel (HD 44 - Seguin)
Patrick M. Rose (HD 45 - Dripping Springs)
Rob Orr (HD 58 - Burleson)
Sidney "Sid" Miller (HD 59 - Stephenville)
Myra Crownover (HD 64 - Denton)
Burt Solomons (HD 65 - Carrollton)
Mabrie Jackson (HD 66 - Plano)
Lanham Lyne (HD 69 - Wichita Falls)
Norma Chavez (HD 76 - El Paso)
Delwin Jones (HD 83 - Lubbock)
Mark Griffin (HD 84 - Lubbock)
Kelly Hancock (HD 91 - North Richland Hills)
Todd Smith (HD 92 - Euless)
Vicki Truitt (HD 98 - Keller)
Charlie Geren (HD 99 - Fort Worth)
Lyle Larson (HD 122 - San Antonio)
Addie Wiseman (HD 127 - Kingwood)
Al Edwards (HD 146 - Houston)

About the Texas Association of REALTORS®

With more than 110,000 members, the Texas Association of REALTORS® is a professional membership organization that represents all aspects of real estate in Texas. We advocate on behalf of Texas REALTORS® and private-property owners to keep homeownership affordable, protect private-property rights, and promote public policies that benefit homeowners. Visit to learn more.

advertise with us

Media Contact

For media inquiries, contact Danielle Urban, 512-448-4950

Media Contact Form