2016 General Election

At the national level, Republicans will now control the executive branch and both chambers of the legislative branch for the first time since 1928. Depending on the nominee, the GOP could also end up with a friendly majority on the Supreme Court. Republicans also control about 2/3 of the state governorships..

After the highest-ever number of Texans registered to vote—more than 15 million—we also saw the highest voter turnout ever—8.93 million.

A record 73% of those who cast ballots did so during the two weeks of early voting. That figure is up 10% from 2012 and 22% from 2008.


There were no surprises statewide. Republicans swept the statewide offices, extending their streak to 133 consecutive statewide race wins (including presidential races). The lone statewide Democrat, who switched parties in 2013, was defeated.

The top Republican vote-getter (statewide percentage) was SCOTX Justice Eva Guzman (55.84%) and the lowest was Donald Trump (52.42%). Guzman also earned more raw votes (4,880,502) than any other statewide Republican.


At the national level, the Democrats have picked up six seats in the U.S. House—far short of where they thought they’d get. They have also picked up two seats in the U.S. Senate.

The partisan composition of the Texas delegation has not changed (25 Republicans / 11 Democrats).

In the only competitive Texas congressional race, Republican Congressman Will Hurd defeated Democrat Pete Gallego (a former state representative and congressman) by 48.46% to 46.8% … a difference of about 3,800 votes.

Texas Senate

The partisan composition of the Texas Senate (20 Repub / 11 Dem) has not changed.

The upper chamber will lose two chairmen:

  • Sen. Kevin Eltife (Business and Commerce)
  • Sen. Troy Fraser (Natural Resources)

There will be three freshman members:

  • SD 1 – Bryan Hughes, R-Mineola (replacing Sen. Eltife)
  • SD 13 – Borris Miles, D-Houston (replacing Sen. Rodney Ellis)
  • SD 24 – Dawn Buckingham, R-Lakeway (replacing Sen. Fraser)

Texas House

Democrats picked up five seats in the Texas House, so the partisan composition has shifted slightly (from 99 Republican, 50 Democrat, 1 Independent to 95 Republican, 55 Democrat).

  • HD 107 – In eastern Dallas County, attorney Victoria Neave defeated Rep. Kenneth Sheets.
  • HD 117 – On the west side of San Antonio, former Rep. Phillip Cortez defeated Rep. Rick Galindo
  • HD 118 – In a district that wraps around east and south San Antonio (including Randolph AFB), Democrat Tomas Uresti (brother of Sen. Carlos Uresti) defeated Rep. John Lujan. Mr. Lujan won in a special election and did not serve during a legislative session.
  • HD 120 – In east San Antonio, Barbara Gervin Hawkins defeated Independent Laura Miller (who won in a special election this summer)
  • HD 144 – In southeastern Harris County, former Rep. Mary Ann Perez (Dem) defeated incumbent Rep. Gilbert Peña

The House will lose nine Chairmen. With public education discussions looming, Rep. John Otto and Rep. Jimmy Don Aycock will be a tough blow to the institutional knowledge.

  • Rep. John Otto (Appropriations)
  • Rep. Susan King (Defense and Veteran’s Affairs)
  • Rep. Allen Fletcher (Emerging Issues In Texas Law Enforcement, Select)
  • Rep. Wayne Smith (Licensing and Administrative Procedure)
  • Rep. Jim Keffer (Natural Resources)
  • Rep. Jimmy Don  Aycock (Public Education)
  • Rep. Myra Crownover (Public Health)
  • Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon (Rules and Regulations)
  • Rep. Doug Miller (Special Purpose Districts)

Altogether, there will be 26 new members of the Texas House; four of those (denoted with ⱡ) have previous experience in the House

  • HD 4 – Lance Gooden, R-Terrell ⱡ
  • HD 5 – Cole Hefner, R-Mt Pleasant
  • HD 7 – Jay Dean, R-Longview
  • HD 18 – Ernest Bailes, R-Shepherd
  • HD 20 – Terry Wilson, R-Marble Falls
  • HD 33 – Justin Holland, R-Rockwall
  • HD 49 – Gina Hinojosa, D-Austin
  • HD 54 – Scott Cosper, R-Killeen
  • HD 55 – Hugh Shine, R-Temple ⱡ
  • HD 60 – Mike Lang, R-Granbury
  • HD 64 – Lynn Stucky, R-Sanger
  • HD 71 – Stan Lambert, R-Abilene
  • HD 73 – Kyle Biedermann, R-Fredericksburg
  • HD 77 – Evalina Ortega, D-El Paso
  • HD 107 – Victoria Neave, D-Dallas
  • HD 116 – Diana Arevalo, D-San Antonio
  • HD 117 – Phil Cortez, D-San Antonio ⱡ
  • HD 118 – Tomas Uresti, D-San Antonio
  • HD 120 – Barbara Gervin Hawkins, D-San Antonio
  • HD 126 – Kevin Roberts, R-Houston
  • HD 128 – Briscoe Cain, R-Deer Park
  • HD 130 – Tom Oliverson, R-Houston
  • HD 139 – Jarvis Johnson, D-Houston
  • HD 144 – Mary Ann Perez, D-Houston ⱡ
  • HD 146 – Shawn Thierry, D-Houston
  • HD 150 – Valoree Swanson, R-Spring

Additionally, state Rep. Dawna Dukes, D-Austin has announced she is retiring, meaning there will be a special election to fill her seat.

How TREPAC-supported candidates fared on Nov. 8 (at-a-glance)

Election Day proved friendly to the 200 candidates who earned TREPAC or RPAC support. REALTOR®-supported candidates had a 98% win record (196-4).