1. Which of the following are not protected classes listed in the Code?

  1. color
  2. race
  3. gender identity
  4. profession
  5. national origin
  6. sex
  7. income level
  8. familial status
  9. handicap
  10. religion
  11. sexual orientation

2. Which of the following obligations are not included in the Code of Ethics?

  1. duties to the public
  2. duties to public officials
  3. duties to clients and customers
  4. duties to REALTORS®

3) Which of the following are REALTORS® required to keep in special accounts?

  1. escrows
  2. commissions
  3. security deposits
  4. trust funds

4) True or false? Even when permissible by law, the Code of Ethics forbids REALTORS®
from accepting compensation from more than one party.

Answers to Ethics Quiz

1) d and g. All the others are listed as protected classes in Article 10, and REALTORS® must not deny equal professional services or be parties to any plan or agreement to discriminate against those classes. In addition, Article 10 states that REALTORS® may not discriminate in their employment practices against those same protected classes. 2) b. 3) a, c, d. Article 8 requires you to keep in a separate account money you receive in trust for other people. 4) False. However, Article 7 of the Code requires disclosure to all parties and the informed consent of the REALTOR®’s client or clients when accepting compensation from more than one party.