How a new TREC rule affects your license renewals
01/07/2015 | Author: Editorial Staff
When you renew your real estate license, make sure your CE is complete and processed when you submit your renewal application.
A new Texas Real Estate Commission rule effective Jan. 1, 2015, changes the timing of the CE-deferral fee. Previously, this $200 fee was charged after renewal if the CE was not complete by the time a license expired. Now the fee will be charged for any renewal applications received without documentation of the proper CE credits.
Education providers have up to 10 days to submit course-completion documents to TREC, so make sure you allow enough time for the provider to submit these documents—and for TREC to process them—before you submit your renewal. Otherwise, you may incur the CE-deferral fee.
Leave a Comment
The material provided here is for informational purposes only and is not intended and should not be considered as legal advice for your particular matter. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Applicability of the legal principles discussed in this material may differ substantially in individual situations.
While the Texas Association of REALTORS® has used reasonable efforts in collecting and preparing materials included here, due to the rapidly changing nature of the real estate marketplace and the law, and our reliance on information provided by outside sources, the Texas Association of REALTORS® makes no representation, warranty, or guarantee of the accuracy or reliability of any information provided here or elsewhere on texasrealestate.com. Any legal or other information found here, on texasrealestate.com, or at other sites to which we link, should be verified before it is relied upon.