Does a brand new house need an inspection?

Translate this page
A smiling home inspector makes notes on a clipboard while standing in front of a fireplace in a vacant house.

05/31/2016 | Author: Legal Staff

We’re buying a home from a builder. Because everything is new, do we need to spend money on a home inspection?

There’s no requirement for you to hire an inspector. However, it’s a good idea to have an inspection before purchasing any home, whether it’s new or 100 years old. Hiring an inspector makes it more likely you’ll uncover any problems with your new home before closing.

But a home inspection isn’t just about finding defects. It’s a great way for you to learn more about your property, as inspectors will discuss their assessment and give you an opportunity to ask questions.

An inspection is only one step you should take before closing on your new house. Talk to a REALTOR® for more information about the homebuying process. 

Categories: Buyers
Tags: buyer, inspection, new homes


Lillian Schaeffer on 08/29/2016

This is some great information, and I appreciate your suggestion to have a home inspection done, even for a new building. My husband and I are going to be buying from a builder as well, and we hadn’t considered having an inspection done. We’ll definitely make sure to do that just in case there are any hidden problems. Thanks for the great post!

Luke Yancey on 07/18/2016

You are completely right- hiring an inspector will uncover anything that could go wrong on the entire property. I would also recommend that if selling a home to have an inspection done with the clients to make sure the majority of problems will be taken care of before they move in. You don’t want to move someone in and then get complaint after complaint about the property!

John Freund on 07/17/2016

Absolutely critical.  We bought a Gehan home from the original owner who only occupied the new house for a year.  The builder had not installed the code required fire proof doors between the two garages and the living areas, but instead used regular internal doors which are not fire proof nor burglar resistance.  This was identified in the initial owner’s inspection but he did not force the builder to replace them.  It was again identified in our inspection and we used the initial inspection report our’s to force the builder to replace them.

Kimbra Valachovic on 07/06/2016

We say “Yes!”  In over 10 years of representing New Construction buyers, we have found repeatedly that the inspectors find more than 3 times their cost in items that should be addressed.  We provide 3 stages of inspections for our buyers; slab, pre-sheetrock, and pre-closing.  Why?  When we have represented sellers of Brand New Construction homes years later, and they discover things the builder slipped by them, it’s costly and upsetting!  When our buyers turn into sellers, we want to go to market with confidence that they won’t be footing the bill for builder’s mistakes.

Mike McEwen on 07/02/2016

Depends on the state you live in and the county in that state.  In any regard someone w/ HVAC, electrical, window installation, plumbing and other kinds of experience should do some inspecting if you lack the skills.

Mario Juarez on 07/02/2016

Are builders required to show proof of inspection? Also,  will banks approve financing without proof of inspection.

Claudia Carroll on 06/03/2016

We always encourage our buyers to get new construction homes inspected because we have found all kinds of things! The very nature of spec home construction is the crews for various phases coming in one after the other, and no one really checks on the quality of the work of the previous group. We have found where there was no switch for the garbage disposal, light fixtures completely missing for the room with no junction box, and much more.  There is more to New Home Construction than a punch list for sure!

Sarah Lee Boson on 06/02/2016

I agree that an inspection should always be done on a new home.  I had one buyer that decided they did not want an inspection.  They closed and moved in on a Friday.  On Sunday I received a panic telephone call.  The downstairs had flooded!  Water had backed up into the home when they used the washer, toilets and dishwasher.  Apparently, there was trash, bottles, cans and other stuff in the sewage lines.  The entire yard had to be torn up and pipes cleaned out.  The entire downstairs carpet had to be replaced and hardwood floors as well.  Buyer then said, wished they had listened and had their own inspector to check each stage of building the house before anything went to the next phase.  It is a very good idea to have your own inspector buyers!

THERESA AKIN on 06/02/2016

Mike McEwen you couldn’t be more right with your last sentence. One of my CE classes after I was getting ready for my first renewal was an inspection class. We were able to go on a field trip to a new subdivision with properties in different phases of construction.  It was the best class. The instructor spoke with the builder and on the different homes did inspections. He let the builder know how the phases were going and the builder complied. The builder wanted no repercussions and we actually got to meet him. One of my favorite classes. I suggest emphatically no matter the age of the property, the buyers have inspections.

Mike McEwen on 06/02/2016

If you know nothing about construction and were not observing the house being constructed, an inspection would probably be a good idea.  There are some home builders in the home building business who have no business building homes.

Leave a Comment

Read our commenting policy

advertise with us

Legal disclaimer

The material provided here is for informational purposes only and is not intended and should not be considered as legal advice for your particular matter. You should contact your attorney to obtain advice with respect to any particular issue or problem. Applicability of the legal principles discussed in this material may differ substantially in individual situations.

While the Texas Association of REALTORS® has used reasonable efforts in collecting and preparing materials included here, due to the rapidly changing nature of the real estate marketplace and the law, and our reliance on information provided by outside sources, the Texas Association of REALTORS® makes no representation, warranty, or guarantee of the accuracy or reliability of any information provided here or elsewhere on Any legal or other information found here, on, or at other sites to which we link, should be verified before it is relied upon.

Advice for Consumers

You sure you want the internet to solve your real estate problems?

How smart home features can make you safer

What’s the point of mortgage points?


More advice for consumers